The sequel to his 2002 Basementality, this new album is Amp Fiddler’s first release since 2008’s Inspiration Information with Jamaican reggae pioneers Sly and Robbie of Grace Jones fame. The six-year gap is explained by the untimely death of Fiddler’s son, drummer Dorian Anthony Fiddler.  After any artist suffers such a devastating loss, one looks to see if anything has changed in the music itself. Lyrically, themes of healing through love (“More Than”) and fighting for love’s survival on “Hold On” may provide some insights but aren’t considerably different from the kind of conscious relationship themes Fiddler’s always covered. Known for rapturous soundscapes and greasy funk vocals on a line of releases starting with 1990’s With Respect, when Amp was then simply known as “Mr. Fiddler,” Basementality 2 just continues that tradition. If anything on such songs as “More Than” and on his duet with Raphael Saadiq on the star track for me “Take It,” Fiddler’s voice has acquired more character and grit with age, almost beautifully breaking at time with feeling. A blend of Ron Isley, The Soul of John Black, and Martin Luther, Fiddler’s instrument is one that has benefited from age and rest, like a fine cognac.
01 – Always
02 – Yeah!
03 – Take It 
04 – Hold On (Extended Remix)
05 – Hold On ( Daniel Crawford remix)
06 – More Than


Toni Braxton and Babyface are starring in the musical drama Love, Marriage & Divorce. The multi-Grammy Award winners have unveiled the movie-like artwork for their anticipated duets album, which navigates the ups and downs of a relationship.

01 – Roller Coaster
02 – Sweat
03 – Hurt You
04 – Where Did We Go Wrong
05 – I Hope That You’re Okay
06 – I Wish
07 – Take It Back
08 – Reunited
09 – I’d Rather Be Broke
10 – Heart Attack
11 – The D Word


Guilty Conscience is the third studio album by American recording artist J. Holiday, it was released on January 28, 2014 through Music Line Group. The album features production from Lil Ronnie, Ronnie D, Jerry Wonda, Blaq Smurph, and Mike Snoddy.  It is his first album since the release of Round 2 (2009).

01 – Incredible
02 – Thinkin About You
03 – Cloud 9
04 – After We
05 – Guilty Conscience
06 – MS. Get Around
07 – Wrong Turn
08 – Home Wrecker
09 – Dumb
10 – Come Back Home
11 – Where Are You Now
12 – Heaven


Soulful Jazzy singer Rajdulari  impressed me with her ‘Honey Wine’ album, and she takes another step forward with the more Soul oriented ‘Journey of a Woman’.  The album reflects a modern woman’s experiences of love and female empowerment. Rajdulari has a superb voice and she is backed by some great musicians. Top tracks for me are the sultry ‘Peace’ , ‘Dance W/Me’, ‘Open Air’, a beautiful remake of Juicy Fruit simple called ‘Juicy’ , and the incredible remake of Tina Turners ‘What’s Love Got 2 Do’ featuring Monique Brook-Roberts.  Quality album to chill to, with good positive lyrics.

01 – Journey of A Woman
02 – Natural
03 – BlackGyrl
04 – Peace
05 – Dance wMe
06 – Real Love
07 – Open Air
08 – Miracles
09 – Juicy
10 – What’s Love Got 2 Do


UK Soul Chart Topping Artist, Marcia Mitchell, is on a path to everywhere! She’s the “Queen of the Soul Music Scene!”

Triple M Productions first R&B/Soul Sensation has recently debuted her Brand New CD Single “FOR LOVE.”  “For Love,” the track title as well, reached number one on the UK Soul Chart on August 11th, 2013. Shortly afterwards, FOR LOVE, a Double-A Single, was released with two additional chart-climbing tracks titled “Wish You Were My Man,” a smoldering Club Dance track, and “Deja Vu,” a remake of Dionne Warwick’s 1979 Hit Ballad.
This Single is currently topping the UK Soul Chart amongst some of the Music Industry’s finest.


01 – For Love
02 – Wish You Were My Man
03 – Deja Vu
04 – What Do You Feel
05 – Prisoner of My Heart
06 – The Look of Love


Noel Gourdin is returning on January 28 with his third album titled “City Heart, Southern Soul,” which is a direct reflection of his upbringing in both Brockton, MA and Pachuta, Mississippi.
The Shanachie-signee explained in a press release, “This album is a reflection of all the great soul artists of the past that inspired me to make retro-relevant records. I strived to stay true to the organic and authentic feel that I’ve always wanted my music to encompass.”
“City Heart, Southern Soul” follows 2011’s “Fresh: The Definition,” and will be headed by the first single “Heaven Knows,” which was inspired by relationships Gourdin experienced. “[The song’s about] the good and the bad, the ups and downs, cheating, communication breakdowns etc. It also deals with the influences that others outside of the relationship can have on two people. But ultimately true love prevails and only ‘Heaven Knows” how deep that love is,” he explained. The album also features the song “Don’t You Wanna” (which was recently featured on VH1’s “Love and Hip Hop: Atlanta”) and “FOXXXY,” a track that currently sits top 10 on UK’s urban radio soul charts.
Having been influenced by Marvin Gaye, Otis Redding and Johnny Taylor, Noel is once again ready to offer his soulfully-crafted, relatable songs. “It’s really important for me to be respectful and have music that can speak to the masses, from a two year old to your Great GrandMAMA!” he adds. “Musical integrity is extremely important to me, for when I leave the industry my musical legacy is what I want to be remembered for…Timeless, Real and Soulful, music.” Top Noel Gourdin track for me is ‘Alter Ego’ but is not found on this album.

01 – Spotlight Lovin’
02 – Foxxxy
03 – Heaven Knows
04 – Photography
05 – Patience
06 – Come Over
07 – Don’t you Wanna
08 – No Worries
09 – Can’t Wait ft Avery Sunshine
10 I Want You (Regardless)


The latest release from Nashville, Tennessee-based funk/ soul label GED Soul comes from house band DeRobert & The Half Truths in the shape of the twelve track album I’m Tryin’. The thing is, it nearly didn’t. Get released that is. Times are hard these days for indy soul labels and also bands too. While, on the plus side, hardship does tend to encourage a certain feel to the music (we’ll call it ‘soul’), on the other hand – funding production of a wax pressing is a bit tricky. So much so in this case that the GED crew resorted to funding the whole thing via a Kickstarter campaign. Which, happily was a success. Applause please! Can I get a soul clap?

01 – I’m Tryin’ (intro)
02 – My Momma Told Me
03 – Ooo Wee
04 – The Dole (part 2)
05 – Get On It
06 – The Speech
07 – Goin’ Places
08 – I Don’t Get Mad No Mo’
09 – Do It Alone
10 – Please Shine On Me
11 – Write A Letter
12 – I’m Tryin’ (outro)